How Traveling Makes it Harder to Date

“I’m not the same having seen the moon shine on the other side of the world.”-Unknown.

The dating scene has made a turn for the worst; with dating apps like Tinder and Bumble (all of which I refuse to even consider using), meeting people and having an actual connection or meaningful conversation that doesn’t come with a “what you doin later” text is no easy task. And honestly, I’m perfectly content with being alone rather than settling for something boring or meaningless.

However, I do believe that my experiences abroad have impacted my lack of interest by raising my standards.

  • It teaches you to be humble: Traveling sheds a light on how small our individual presence takes up in the world. It humbles you and makes you grateful for the life you have and who you share it with. It also teaches you that the world is full of wonder and that life precious. So when I meet men who don’t appreciate life or my place in theirs, it makes it easier to let go knowing that life is too short to be taken for granted and that there are people out there who will value you. And when you do find that person, you’ll cherish them and want to share with them all your adventures and life.
  • Not everyone can keep up with you: Not everyone has the same travel habits and not everyone likes to travel. Not everyone can adapt to the culture shock that comes with visiting unfamiliar places and get out of their comfort zone. Traveling forces you to leave the familiar behind and there are people out there who don’t like change. You have to be willing to go with the flow and be up for the adventure otherwise you might miss out on some amazing experiences.
  • Mundane conversation is such a turnoff: M.D. Water once said, “Seduce my mind and you can have my body, find my soul and I’m yours forever.” As a communications major, I’m pretty good at making small talk. However, it can get pretty boring to talk to guys about “what’s up” when there’s a whole world out there full of ideas and experiences. Traveling forces you to really look at the world and think about what you want out of life. It changes you, makes you more whole while at the same time taking you away from the familiarity of day-to-day life. Since being abroad, I’ve found it much easier to talk to people, even foreigners, about anything because travel expands your mind. If someone can’t contribute anything thought provoking to the conversation, there’s no way to keep my interest.
This post originally appeared on The Pace Chronicle 
Leave a Reply

